Addressing the Energy-Water-Food challenge
Event

Webchat // Addressing the Energy-Water-Food challenge

Webchat hosted by Dick Benschop, President Director Shell Netherlands and Jeremy Bentham, Vice President Global Business Environment

Join Dick Benschop, Jeremy Bentham and other Shell Executives at our upcoming webchat on September 27, as they discuss and share their views on how we can tackle the complex issues of the energy-water-food challenge. This session is also timely given the recent US drought situation which puts into sharp focus the linkages between energy, water and food resources, with water scarcity impacting both food production and electricity generation. You will have the opportunity to join us and present your questions on this issue in real time to our panel of experts.

This webchat follows the Powering Progress Together Forum held in May 2012, co-hosted by Shell and the City of Rotterdam, which brought together more than 500 leaders from business, government and civil society to brainstorm new ideas with the public to address these resource challenges.

How & When

27 Sept 2012

First webchat session, convenient for Europe, Asia and Australia:

-09:00 London, Lagos

-10:00 Brussels, Paris, Berlin

-13:30 New Delhi

-16:00 Singapore

-16:00 Perth

-18:00 Sydney

Second webchat session, Convenient for the Americas, Europe and Africa:

-08:00 San Francisco, Los Angeles

-11:00 New York, Washington DC

-12:00 Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo

-16:00 London, Lagos

-17:00 Brussels, Paris, Berlin

-17:00 Cape Town

› back

Conferences, Forums and Symposiums

IAMG2019 // 20th Annual Conference of the International Association for Mathematical Geosciences

The conference will cover the usual topics in geo-mathematics, geostatistics, and geomodeling but in particular will bring to fore geomodeling issues at the intersection of food, water, and energy. The challenge of meeting the increased demand for food, water, and energy and the resultant stress on our geo-sphere is broadly accepted as one of the major scientific challenges facing mankind. The feedback processes intrinsic to this tri-partite cycle are best-studied using sophisticated...

// more
Stockholm World Water Week (SWWW) 2019

Stockholm World Water Week 2019

In 2019, World Water Week will explore an inclusive approach. This week’s theme: “Water and society – including all” is recognizing that not everybody is impacted in the same way by too little, too much or too dirty water. Less obvious than last year, the Nexus approach will remain at the heart of the water debate, especially through the seminar topic "Addressing migration through regional integration and water security for all", that explicitly connects water, energy and food security as the...

// more
Migration

SWWW 2019 Seminar // Addressing Migration through Regional Integration and Water Security for All

Regional economic integration can foster transboundary water management as well as energy and food security. It also attracts investments that address infrastructure deficits, accelerates participation in global and regional value chains, and stimulates economic growth. All are important entry points for sustainable development. However, environmental and social co-benefits are typically not as well quantified as economic growth.

// more